Time for some Scottish Haggis!

What is haggis? Why do Scots eat it? Should I eat it? 

These questions were running through my head as I decided to study abroad in Edinburgh, as I arrived in Scotland two weeks ago, and as I noticed the numerous restaurants that serve haggis, nips, and tatties. What exactly is haggis made from, you may ask? I will gladly provide you with the ingredient list and you can conjure up an image and an opinion of this Scottish traditional meal. 

Ingredients: 1 sheep’s stomach or ox secum, heart and lungs of one lamb, beef or lamb trimmings, onions, oatmeal, salt and pepper, coriander, mace, nutmeg, and stock from lungs and trimmings

There you have it. I’ll leave a link to the full recipe so you can try homemade haggis sometime: http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/haggis_66072

Last week, a few friends and I went out to dinner to try our first haggis at Mums Great Comfort Food near the University of Edinburgh square, Bristo Square. (How comforting are sheep’s heart and lungs, right?) Some of my friends started off with macaroni and cheese, a taste of home in America, and I started with a delicious red pepper and sweet potato soup. And after that, while the suspense was rising, we all split a haggis dish. The haggis was served with gravy on top of a neat, round-shaped mound of mashed potatoes, or natties. I was not sure what type of taste to expect but I am glad to say that I enjoyed haggis. (To me, it had a similar taste to meatloaf.) I will definitely try haggis at other restaurants in Edinburgh this semester. 

Here are a few of pictures from my dinner:

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

