Weekend in Paris

Last weekend I went to Paris! I visited my friend Alex who is studying abroad for the semester in Paris. During my sub-72 hours in Paris, I was able to see some of the biggest attractions, dine on traditional French cuisine (and treats), explore the city with Alex, and experience the night life in the City of Light.

I’m including this poster in the post because it provides an adorable depiction of the post’s title and because I have a poster of this exact image already hanging in my bedroom in New Jersey (as a souvenir from my trip to Paris with my dad in 2010!).

One of the first things I did upon arriving at night to Paris was to see the beautifully-illuminated Eiffel Tower, a structure that was unbelievably built to be a temporary display during the 1888’s World Fair in Paris. The next day, I enjoyed seeing paintings at the Musée d’Orsay by renowned artists including Manet, Monet, Degas, Cézanne, Renoir and van Gogh. My favorite paintings in the museum are Degas’ numerous portrayals of ballet dancers, Manet’s provocative and shocking The Luncheon on the Grass, and Renoir’s Impressionistic masterpiece Bal du moulin de la Galette (see image below).


After I went to the Musée d’Orsay, I enjoyed a croque madame at a cafe along the Avenue des Champs-Élysées and admired the famous 164ft tall Arc de Triomphe. I also enjoyed a salted caramel macaron from the Ladurée, which has been serving macarons and other pastries in Paris since 1862; I proudly became one of the 15,000 daily customers at Ladurée. Travel, touring and treats made this a fabulous weekend in Paris!

  

3 thoughts on “Weekend in Paris

  1. I am so jealous. The d’Orsay is amazing. As I’d told you, I wasn’t overly impressed by Paris, but you probably had a better time of it staying with Alex. I was in a very crumby hostel, a 14 person room over a shady bar.

    Glad to see you’re enjoying yourself. Be safe!

  2. Thanks for reading! Yes, I agree that the d’Orsay is great; I’m glad I went there during my one full day in Paris. The weekend was a whirlwind but I’m glad I went. Despite losing my iphone and missing my flight back to Edi (!), I had a really fun time visiting Alex, touring Paris, and going out in the City of Light. I stayed in Alex’s beautiful apartment on Felix Faure, so I’d have to say my arrangements were magnificent and much superior to a crumby hostel.

Leave a Reply

