‘Monkeying around’ in my flat

Little did I know before coming to Edinburgh that banana bread is an American tradition and novelty. Yes you can imagine that I’ve been missing homemade banana bread and the weekly Leo’s vegan banana bread this semester! My international flatmates here weren’t familiar with it, and with a little research, I learned that banana bread first became a standard in American cookbooks in the 1930s–after baking soda and baking powder had become popular. During the first few months in Edinburgh, I ‘talked up’ banana bread to my Norwegian flatmate, Ingvild, who had never had it before. Two weeks ago, we decided to make some ‘American’ banana bread in our flat.

Ingvild and I with our banana bread in my flat!

 

2 thoughts on “‘Monkeying around’ in my flat

Leave a Reply

